What's New

The SAHB Michael Sedgwick Award 2015 

The winning book

The winning book

The Society of Automotive Historians in Britain is delighted to announce the winner of the 2015 Michael Sedgwick Award, named in honour of the previous Curator and Director of Research at the National Motor Museum.

From a shortlist of three very strong entries, the winner was Stewart Penfound, for his book, Harry Lester, His Cars & The Monkey Stable.

The runners up were Bruce Dowell and Alan Richens for Sunbeam, the Brass Period and Graham Robson's, Works Triumphs in Detail: Standard-Triumph’s works competition entrants, car-by-car.

Penfound's book tells the story of Harry Lester, who produced over 30 Lester MGs during the late 1940s and early 1950s, which were mainly raced by the Monkey Stable.

Stewart Penfound with his own Lester-MG

Stewart Penfound with his own Lester-MG

The judges said of the book:

‘If the criterion for the Sedgwick Award is original research, then this book is a strong contender. Lester owner Stewart Penfound has gone to considerable trouble to set down this well-researched story and has not jibbed from making it a warts-and-all account'.

The author was presented with a plaque and a cheque for £250 by the Chairman of the Judging Panel, Dr Craig Horner.


Site by Surface Impression