Lotus E20

Key facts

  • Year: 2012
  • Country: Great Britain
  • Capacity: 2,400cc
  • Cylinders: V8
  • Output: 750bhp @ 18,000rpm
  • Maximum speed: over 200mph
  • Owner: Private collection
  • Manufacturer: Lotus F1 Team
Lotus E20 2012 On Display

The Renault-powered Lotus E20 was driven throughout the 2012 Formula One season by Romain Grosjean and former World Champion Kimi Räikkönen. That year there was no dominant team and eight different drivers won races, Räikkönen achieved seven podium finishes, including victory in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. He finished the season third in the Drivers’ Championship. Lotus were fourth in the Constructors’ Championship.

The modern Lotus F1 Team carries the name of its branding partner, sports car manufacturer Lotus Cars. In 2011 they ran as Lotus Renault GP. Prior to that the team was owned by Renault and was called Renault F1 Team, winning the World Championship in 2005 and 2006. Between 1986 and 2001 the team was called Benetton, winning Championships in 1994 and 1995. The team’s origins date back to 1981 when they were known as Toleman.

The E20 has been highly competitive in race trim

Motor Sport, October 2012

If you would like a copy of any of our images, please visit our dedicated Motoring Picture Library website