McLaren Mercedes MP4/21

Key facts

  • Year: 2006
  • Country: Great Britain
  • Capacity: 2,400cc
  • Cylinders: V8
  • Valves: Double overhead camshaft
  • Output: 740bhp at 18,500rpm
  • Maximum speed: Over 200mph / 321.86 kmph
  • Price new: Not marketed
  • Loaned by: Private Owner
  • Manufacturer: McLaren International, Woking, Surrey
McLaren Mercedes MP4/21 replica 2010 On Display

The McLaren MP4/21 was designed for the 2006 Formula One season by McLaren’s Chief Engineer Adrian Newey. The team’s drivers that year were Kimi Räikkönen and Juan Pablo Montoya. Pedro de la Rosa replaced Montoya mid-season. This show car now carries the livery of 2009 World Champion Jenson Button.

The McLaren team was founded by Bruce McLaren, well known for his exploits with Cooper. McLaren-built sports racing cars were followed by the first single-seater, which appeared in time for the 1966 Formula One season. Bruce McLaren was killed in a testing accident at Goodwood in 1970 but his team lived on. World Championships followed for Emerson Fittipaldi (1974) and James Hunt (1976). McLaren merged with Project Four in 1980, the new McLaren International team going on to win numerous drivers’ and constructors’ titles over the next three decades.

The V8 was revved to 19,700rpm in qualifying [for the European Grand Prix]

Autosport, 11 May 2006

If you would like a copy of any of our images, please visit our dedicated Motoring Picture Library website